Get to Know Me: The Beauty Blogger Tag

My friend Sharon at Hello There, Blondie tagged me in a recent post.  I am a little behind because of everything that has been going on, but I am finally getting it done!  So here goes.  Anyone who would like to complete this as well, feel free to do so and let me know so I can get to know you better!

1. Is your hair naturally curly or straight?
My hair is slightly wavy. 

2. Do you dye it yourself or go to a salon?
Of course I dye it myself.  It is naturally auburn, and I dye it auburn on top, and blue black underneath.  I have been sporting these colors for years now, and dont see a change in the immediate future.  It is getting sad how many grays there are, so I am getting better at dying it regularly.

3. Do you wear the same style everyday, or do you change it?
I am so lazy when it comes to doing my hair, and either scrunch it with some hairspray, or straighten it. It is my goal to do some more hairstyles this year, but I am not doing well with that so far. 

4. Do you do your own mani/pedi or go to a salon?
I have been doing my own nails lately.  My nails are fairly weak and tend to peel, and they are much healthier when I care for them myself.  I love getting gel manicures done, they last for weeks with no maintenance, but are hell when I decide to stop.  I go back and forth between getting pedicures and painting my own toes.  Pedicures are a splurge that I love, but because I am watching money right now, I have been painting my own toes.  You will never see me share pics of that because I am not a fan of feet.  At all.

5. How often do you change your nail polish?
On average, I change every 5 days.  I try to get as much wear as possible out of my looks, but sometimes it doesn’t work, or I get bored with them.  I share almost every time I change my polish.

6. Do you polish your toes in the winter or just the summer?
Year round.  I may hate feet, but that doesn’t mean I want mine to look ugly!

7. How long does it take for you to put on makeup?
This depends.  Most of the time it takes me about 20 minutes to do my makeup, and that is a full-face look.  If I am running late, I can be out the door in about 10 minutes.

8. What do you do first? Face or eyes?
Always the eyes.  I love glittery shadows, and fallout happens.  It is easiest to start with the eyes, clean up any mess, and finish the rest of the face.  Strangely, I only do my shadow first.  Eyeliner and mascara are the last things I apply.

9. Do you collect makeup or just buy what you need when you need it?
Um, have you seen my blog?!  I collect.  I have enough makeup for 50 people and I’m OK with it.

10. How often do you wear false eyelashes?
Not often, but I love them!  I own at least 30 pairs, but it takes me forever to apply them because I am a perfectionist, and because I have long eyelashes to begin with so it makes it harder for me to make them fit in well.

11. Do you do a full face of makeup everyday?
I wish.  I wear a full face 2 or 3 times a week.  I work at home, and can get away with working in PJs most days.  Makeup happens when I have meetings or conferences to attend, presentations to give, or video meetings scheduled.

12. Do you wear makeup when you’re home alone or with family?
Sometimes, usually if I want to blog something specific.

13. Will you leave the house without makeup?
All the time.  I love makeup, but I also love lazy.  I have no problem running errands with no makeup…let’s be honest, I have no problem running errands in PJs.  But if I have plans, then I like to look put-together.

14. How many high-end products do you have?
Hmmmmm, a few.  I love OCC lip tars, and only use a NARS bronzer.  I have a few Urban Decay palettes, and a Tarte palette, and 15 or 20 different lippies from various high-end companies.  I don’t really care about brands.  I used to, but now I am more concerned with getting the best deal, and finding the best product I can.

15. Do you plan your OOTD every night or decide when you’re getting dressed?
I always choose an outfit ahead of time, and usually choose the colors of makeup I want to wear, if not the exact products.

16. How often do you change your handbag?
Often, as many as 4 times a month.  I love purses, and variety is the spice of life.  I will have to do a blog post about this!

17. What time do you wake up and go to sleep?
I am a night owl (I am typing this at 4am).  My sleep has never been consistent, but it has been especially bad the past couple of years.  I either dont sleep at all, or I sleep 12+ hours.  If I could regulate my sleep, I would choose to get up around 10am, and go to bed around 2am.

18. How often or when do you workout?
Ha!  I have a gym membership, it’s the going that is difficult.  A friend and I are aiming for 3 times a week starting next week…Im sure you’ve heard that before.

19. Left handed or right handed?
Right.

20. How tall are you?
5’3.5”.  And yes, that .5” totally matters!

21. Do you speak any foreign languages?
I took Spanish all through high school and college, and even studied in Spain for a summer in college.  I do not speak well at all, and I am really rusty.

22. How many pets do you have?
Three cats, Kitty, Boy, and Lovie.  I have a thing for special needs animals.  They are all rescues; Kitty has three legs, Boy was an abandoned feral cat, and Lovie is missing her bottom lip and parts of her ears.  I love my babies ❤

23. How often are you on Blogger?
Not at all, I really don’t leave WordPress.  In fact, 99% of my blogs are done from my phone.

24. Do you read comments posted on blogs?
I do, unless there are hundreds.  I am interested in finding new blogs to follow, and a great way to do that is by following commenters on blogs I already follow.

25. Do you keep a list of products to try as you see other posts?
No, but I do have an elfster, and I update it every other month or so with things that I want.  Right now I am trying to avoid adding anything new because of my no-buy, but all bets are off June 1!

26. How did you come up with your blog name?
When I think of Shards of Illusion, I think of a broken mirror, showing different facets of me.  It seemed fitting.  What is makeup but a beautiful illusion?

27. What kind of camera do you use for your photographs?
My phone.  This is why I don’t really consider myself a beauty blogger.  I don’t take special photos of things, I don’t believe in photoshop.  Anything I share is just part of me, everyday things that make me happy.

28. How often do you clean your house?
A couple times a week.  I love to make To-Do lists because it makes me feel good to cross things off as I complete them.

29. What’s your favorite color?
Maroon.  Or hot pink.  Or lime green.  Sometimes black.  This question is too hard.

30. Do you swear?
Like a sailor.  I try not to swear when blogging, but slip every now and then.

31. What are you doing with the rest of your day?
Since it is after 4am, I will either take a nap before a teleconference I have this morning, or I will stay up and get some work done.

3 thoughts on “Get to Know Me: The Beauty Blogger Tag

  1. talker blogger

    You and me same about the 4 am blogging … Lol .. I have 2 kids and sometimes I wake up at night and don’t fall asleep so I start blogging !!! Crazy 🙂
    And yea I use my phone for wordpress too .. I switched from blogger cause it was not as versatile as wordpress ..
    And makeup .. Same deal here .. Lazy.. Guilty as charged !
    Fun knowing you !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

